Life Lessons – Apology

Posted: June 5, 2015 in About Life

“Sincere apologies are for those that make them, not for those to whom they are made.” ~Greg LeMond

It is entirely true. When you apologize to someone, you put forward a part of yourself to the person along with the gesture that the relationship means more to you than your self-esteem.

However, it is entirely a different matter of how you feel about apologizing. A ‘Sorry’ can never undo the scar you leave by hurting someone. It just gives a Launchpad for you to move forward with the person.

That said, so should one feel good about saying sorry? Many believe that if you don’t feel good about it, the apology will not look genuine.

Now, this is something which I am going to talk about.

Ever since I was a kid and the furthest most my memory can go, my grandma always told me, “It is important to say sorry and mean it once you hurt someone even if it is not entirely your mistake. But, you should never feel good about saying sorry. You should hate saying sorry each time you say it. Only then you can make yourself capable of not hurting anyone at all!

If you feel good or even okay when you say sorry to someone, you will be tempted to feel that it is okay to hurt people because you can always say sorry.”

This is something I have always tried to apply in my life. I hate it when I have to apologize to someone. Anything once broken can never go back to its original state, and sometimes ‘time’ never heals certain wounds.

It is extremely difficult to train oneself not to hurt others, but it is definitely not impossible.

Having mastered all the Puranas, Vedas, Upanishads my grandma had cultivated the ancient wisdom and in an innocent way she made me realize this – Hate it when you say sorry to someone, but also mean it when you say sorry!

Well, I am still not there yet, but yeah one day, sure I am going to make her proud!

Leave a Reply

